NMC Registration

In order to work and reside in the United Kingdom as a nurse or midwife, it is imperative to undergo certain procedures. The primary requirement is to attain registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) through the overseas registration process before commencing your profession in the UK.

English Language Proficiency

Applicants who are not from the UK but wish to pursue the NMC application process must complete either the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) or OET exam, as English is the primary language used in the UK for communication. It is mandatory for overseas nurses aiming to work in the UK to achieve a minimum score of 7.0 out of 9 in each category of the IELTS test, which includes listening, reading, writing, and speaking. It is important to note that IELTS test results are only considered valid for a duration of two years.

The scores required for the IELTS are as follows:

  • A minimum score of 7.0 is required for the Listening section.
  • A minimum score of 7.0 is required for the Reading section.
  • A minimum score of 6.5 is required for the Writing section.
  • A minimum score of 7.0 is required for the Speaking section.
  • Regarding OET, the required scores are:
  • A score of B is required for the Listening section.
  • A score of B is required for the Reading section.
  • A score of C+ is required for the Writing section.
  • A score of B is required for the Speaking section.


Work Experience

To be eligible for registration with the NMC, you must have worked as a Registered Nurse (RN) or midwife in your home country for a minimum of 12 months on a full-time or part-time basis, accumulating a minimum of 450 hours within the past three years. Your work experience should encompass a variety of roles including administrative, supervisory, teaching, research, managerial responsibilities, as well as direct patient care.

Licensing and Registration

In order to apply for registration with NMC, it is necessary to have a currently active license or registration granted by the licensing authority in your country of qualification or employment. It is important to provide all the necessary information, such as registration certificates and verification documents, while working as a registered nurse or midwife.

Registration process

CBT (Computer-based Test) and OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examination) are two assessments required for registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) in the United Kingdom.

  1. CBT (Computer-based Test):
  • The CBT is an online exam that tests the theoretical knowledge and understanding of nursing or midwifery practice.
  • It consists of multiple-choice questions, and candidates have a set time limit to complete the test.
  • The CBT is divided into two parts: Part 1 focuses on general nursing or midwifery knowledge, and Part 2 focuses on professional values and behaviours.
  • The NMC provides learning materials and sample questions to help candidates prepare for the CBT.
  • A pass mark is set for each part, and candidates must pass both parts to proceed to the next stage of the registration process.
  1. OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examination):
  • The OSCE is a practical examination that assesses the nursing or midwifery skills and competence of candidates.
  • It takes place in an examination centre and involves a series of stations where candidates demonstrate their ability to perform various clinical tasks and procedures.
  • Each OSCE station has a specific scenario or task, and candidates are observed and assessed by trained examiners.
  • The OSCE evaluates not only the technical skills but also communication skills, ethical and professional behaviour, and patient-centred care.
  • The NMC provides candidates with detailed information about the OSCE format and expectations.
  • A pass mark is set for each individual station, and candidates must achieve a pass in all stations to successfully complete the OSCE.


Both the CBT and OSCE are critical assessments for NMC registration because they ensure that nurses and midwives meet the required standards of knowledge, skills, and competence to practice safely and effectively in the UK healthcare system. Successful completion of these assessments allows nurses and midwives to apply for NMC registration and work as registered professionals in the United Kingdom.